Lotus Elevens racing in the Southwest division in the '60's

Forum for Division-wide news and discussions.
RHoenig

Lotus Elevens racing in the Southwest division in the '60's

Post by RHoenig » Mon Dec 10, 2012 2:41 pm

Hi there from the hills of western Pa. I have been researching Lotus Eleven history for 40+ years and am currently trying to find info on #328, S-2 leMans. There is very little info to go on except the following: It was obtained in '70 or '71, out of Texas, from an unknown owner/driver that was active in SCCA events with it. He was involved in real estate and stopped racing when he hurt his leg on the job. The car was painted dark blue, could have raced with or without a headrest, had an open cockpit, had wobbly web rims (rare) and the body was not cut up for wider tires. The roll bar, when purchased was tall, full width, with front and back bracing ( mid '60's?). The car was in very good condition for an Eleven at time. It was raced in England in '57 and '58 ending with a wreck in '58. So we are working on its english history from then and when it came into the states. Mike Tomforde & his wife will be checkiing their records over the holidays for us ('61 divisionall champion with an Eleven). I have not been able to locate Jim Warren, another Eleven driver in the mid '60's. I have gone all thru the Green Valley Pics and records that I can find. In the '66 GVR Trans-Am there is a pic of the pits with a dark blue Eleven way in the background, but cannot find an entry for it.

Our questions for the members are:
Does anyone remember this car?
Is there an unofficial historian for your division that would have access to entry lists?
Are there archives from that time period?
I have a pic of the car from the '70's when purchased that can be e/m'd on request.
I have contacted the CVAR and several of the Sowdiv regions for their help also.

Any thoughts, leads, and recollections would be greatly appreciated.

All have a great day and many thanks

Regards